CEANTAR BARDASACH CHATHAIR CHILL CHAINNIGH MUNICIPAL DISTRICT OF KILKENNY CITY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF ANNUAL MEETING HELD ON MONDAY, 27th JUNE, 2017, AT 6.00 PM

Present:

Councillors: Peter "Chap" Cleere, Michael Doyle, David Fitzgerald, Seán

Tyrrell, Matt Doran, Breda Gardner, David Kennedy, Joe Malone, Andrew McGuinness, Patrick McKee, Malcolm

Noonan, Patrick O'Neill.

Also Present:

Ms. Colette Byrne, Chief Executive, Ms. Anne Maria Walsh, Senior Executive Officer, Mr. Seamus Kavanagh, A/Senior Engineer.

Apologies: Mr. Tim Butler, Director of Services.

Adjournment:

Cllr. Patrick O'Neill, Mayor, opened the Meeting and noted with regret the death of Mr. Jim Butler, father of Mr. Tim Butler, Director of Services and Mary Butler, Arts Officer.

It was:

Proposed by: Cllr. Patrick O'Neill Seconded by: Cllr. Joe Malone

And Resolved:

"That we offer our deepest sympathy to Tim & Mary Butler and their families on the loss sustained by them on the death of their father, Mr. Jim Butler, and that this Meeting be Adjourned for a period of 15 minutes, as a mark of respect to his memory."

The Resolution was then put to the meeting and respectfully passed in silence, all present standing.

Cllr. O'Neill addressed the meeting before proceeding to the election of the Mayor. He gave an overview of his year as Mayor.

Summons of Meeting:

Notice dated 20th June, 2017, was read, convening the Statutory Meeting of the Municipal District of Kilkenny City for this date, for the purpose of electing a Mayor and Deputy Mayor of the Municipal City for the ensuing year.

Adoption of Procedure:

The procedure for election of Mayor, as laid down under Section 37 Local Government Act, 2001, having been explained, it was

Proposed by Cllr. D Fitzgerald Seconded by Cllr. J Malone And Agreed

"That the procedure laid out under Section 37 of the Local Government Act 2001 be adhered to for the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor".

Item No. 1. <u>Election of Mayor:</u>

Proposed by: Cllr. David Fitzgerald Seconded by: Cllr. Joe Malone And unanimously Resolved

"That Cllr. Michael Doyle be elected to fill the Office of Mayor for the ensuing year."

Cllr. Michael Doyle was presented with the chain of office by the outgoing Mayor, Cllr. Patrick O'Neill.

All members congratulated the Mayor on his election and the outgoing Mayor, Cllr. Patrick O'Neill, on his hard work and commitment during his mayoralty.

Ms. Colette Byrne, Chief Executive, on behalf of all the staff, congratulated Cllr. Doyle. Ms. Byrne also acknowledged the distinguished manner in which Cllr. Patrick O'Neill carried out his duties as Mayor.

Cllr. Michael Doyle addressed the Meeting and spoke of his hopes for the forthcoming year as Mayor.

Item No. 2: Election of Deputy Mayor

Proposed by: Cllr. David Fitzgerald Seconded by: Cllr. Peter 'Chap' Cleere "That Cllr. Patrick O'Neill be elected to fill the Office of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year." Proposed by: Cllr. Breda Gardner Seconded by: Cllr. Seán Tyrrell "That Cllr. David Kennedy be elected to fill the Office of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year." The proposals were put to a vote as follows: For Cllr. Patrick O'Neill, Cllr. Peter "Chap" Cleere, Cllr. Michael Doyle, Cllr. Matt Doran, Cllr. David Fitzgerald, Cllr. Joe Malone, Cllr. Andrew McGuinness, Cllr. Patrick McKee, Cllr. Patrick O'Neill (8). For Cllr. David Kennedy Cllr. Breda Gardner, Cllr. David Kennedy, Cllr. Seán Tyrrell (3). Abstain: Cllr. Malcolm Noonan Cllr. Patrick O'Neill was declared elected by 8 votes to 3 and presented with the chain of office by the outgoing Deputy Mayor, Cllr. Michael Doyle. All members congratulated Cllr. O'Neill on his election. This concluded the business of the meeting. Signed: MAYOR

Date: